Don’t sell your Wii yet!!!

Posted: April 9, 2011 by lagunawsu2 in Features

I know, I know, I speak insanity. In fact, many people I know have sold their Wii already. It just didn’t have the diverisity of content that a gaming console requires, regardless of the fact if it has a cool remote thingy. The only Wii I know of in person is at my girlfriends work, where it has been used to play only 3 games: Mariokart, Super Mario Galaxy, and Super Mario Galaxy 2. Nintendo knows their own system. But wait Wii owners! There is hope! Today I, Laguna, discovered twin kernels of golden gaming goodness…Behold:

Xenoblade Chronicles

If the first thing that popped into your head when you read that was, “Ohmygod Ohmygod Ohmygod is it related to Xenogears???”  Then I am overjoyed to report that it is INDEED of the Monolith-soft origin. Directed by the same man who directed Xenogears (Takahashi Tetsuya).

By the way, that giant robot thing that keeps popping up is THE WORLD MAP.  Life, civilization and your character are all existing on a GIANT GEAR. I can’t think of words to describe the jubilation this causes within me.

I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, “Laguna, this can’t get any better! I mean, another Xenogears!?”

Oh my readers, it does get better. The great goes to the greater. Look now and gaze upon the wonder of…

The Last Story

Directed by THE Hironobu Sakaguchi, we have a game about relationships, action and romance. Feast your eyes upon A STEALTH ENGINE IN AN ACTION RPG!!!!   (Exclamations points = excitement about said topic.)

I thought the Xenoblade trailer was mind blowing but holy feckin hell Hironobu-san has gone over the top this time! Did you see the spellcasting? At about 50 secs in, you can see the main character casting spells. Little lines that  reach out to each target available in a very tactile, string like way. I think my 13 year old self just fell over dead from happiness.

TLDR; if your any kind of JRPG fan, DO NOT SELL YOUR WII. Two great JRPG by great masters of the craft are coming very soon.

I know the waiting is terrible, but unless you speak Japanese you have 6-8 months before it hits the shelves here. If not for the 2011 holiday season, then definitely early next year.

Laguna out.

Leave a Reply

